Did I Say Something Good?

realrabbitI have not posted here since May. That’s embarrassing. Our daughter was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes on May 17 of 2016, and it sent us on a bit of a wild ride.  If you would like to follow that journey, I have set up a blog for it, as well as a Facebook page and a YouTube channel.

So here I am again. I’m sure if I had any regular readership, those people have left my blog to go binge watch on Netflix, or read a good book.  But for those of you who may wander in here, I have something to say today.

Today I was searching for quotes about God’s love. Just something thoughtful, memorable, and pithy to put in our church bulletin for the month of February (which markets the idea of “love” in ways which can never hold a candle to His love).

Know what? I found a lot of great stuff. Quotable, I-need-to-go-back-and-read-that-again kinds of things. Like this:

“When I lay these questions before God I get no answer. But a rather special sort of ‘No answer.’ It is not the locked door. It is more like a silent, certainly not uncompassionate, gaze. As though He shook His head not in refusal but waiving the question. Like, ‘Peace, child; you don’t understand.”  C. S. Lewis

And I came to a realization. There are a lot of people talking. Some old, some new. Some wildly popular, some I’d never heard of. And I asked myself something.

What would make my words worth listening to?

And I came to a conclusion as soon as that question came into my head. The most worthwhile things I believe I’ve ever shared were things that sort of sprang from just being me, walking with God, living my life. The best “truth bombs” have sometimes surprised me when I heard them in my own voice on the phone, during a chat over tea with kids happily causing a ruckus in the background, or while standing side by side washing dishes with someone after a church dinner.

My best “material” comes when I’m not on the watch for it. When I’m not preparing for several sessions of a ladies retreat, or reviewing questions for a weekly Bible study, or trying to write that elusive book, or putting together something I hope will be engaging for a group of 5-12 year old kids.

My best “material” flows spontaneously when I’m regularly in the Word, so the Spirit has a limitless “tool box” to use. And I get out of the way.

I think of the one scene in “Mom’s Night Out” that always makes me cry:

Allyson:  I can’t get in front of it no matter how much I give, how much I do… I just, I’m not enough.
Bones:  For who?
Allyson:  I don’t know.  Sean, the kids, my mother, … God…
Bones:  For you?  You’re not enough for you.

(and yes, I’m tearing up again…)

After this exchange, Allyson finds herself stunned that such deep and resonating words could come from a biker.  His only reply is, “What? What’d I say? Somethin’ good?”

It’s the real stuff. Not necessarily the three alliterated points. Not the sentimental poem that brings tears. Not the clever illustration. The things which come from simply trying to pound the pavement every day, trying to walk in the light, with our hand in His–those are the things others can relate to.

I think we need more people who surprise themselves in their own humility, and surprise us in turn, by being real.

You know what? I look at all of the things I thought were important categories and tags for previous posts, and I don’t know what to call this, how to put it in a cubby hole. I’m not really even much caring about tags to increase my SEO. So I’m doing something very un-bloggerly. I’m simply posting it. These thoughts are for my heart. If they are meaningful for you too, I’m grateful.

2 thoughts on “Did I Say Something Good?

  1. I’m a ‘regular’ reader. A few days ago I was wondering what had happened to you, so I prayed for you. I am probably 30 years older than you, yet I appreciate your transparency and that you are ‘real.’ Amazing how much information is available out there but so little transformation. The lost commitment to meditate on the word of God- not to check off a little box saying yep I did my weekly verses with meditation; rather I was like a moth drawn to the flame.
    No fake news . The Truth sets us free to live in a way that glorifies God and serve others.
    Now I will read about your daughter.

Leave a Reply

