Keep Pounding the Door

sandhands.jpg

I read a devotional this morning about the parable of the importunate neighbor. You know…that guy who wakes up his neighbor in the middle of the night for help, and just won’t go away?
Our heavenly Father is much more patient and willing to help us…and He has every resource we need in superabundance, ready to distribute according to His great wisdom.
You really don’t need to get His attention. You’ve had it since before you were born. From that moment until now, He has loved you with an everlasting love, and He’s been drawing you with His lovingkindness. 

 “How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!

If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.” Psalm 139:17,18

I once used those verses to illustrate God’s care to a group of children in a government housing project. Many of them lived lives of neglect. I asked for a volunteer, and I asked that little girl if she would be willing to count the sand I had in a small plastic container. She agreed enthusiastically, and began taking pinches of it and making tiny mounds to count. I explained that I would like for her to count every grain. Her eyes got big as saucers.
God’s thoughts toward us number more than the sand on every beach, dune, desert, and ocean floor. I’m finding more and more that prayer is not about His interest in me…it is about my acknowledging that I need Him.
One thought on “Keep Pounding the Door

Leave a Reply

