I Want to Look Like Love.

whatwouldlovedoIt’s so easy to go through a day, or week, or year…with an “edge”. We can blame illness, fatigue, financial status, discouragement, and so many other things.
 
When I consider that God’s love is unconditional, almost always I think of that meaning it has “no strings attached” regarding the receiver (us). No matter what we’ve done, where we are, what our history is, God’s love is offered without reserve. Don’t we revel in that?
 
Today I’m thinking about something different. I’m thinking about this from the giving end. Nevermind how much sleep I had last night. Without regard to how empty or full the fridge is, what aches, or whether or not things are going my way today. Will I still choose love?
 
“I can’t do that,” I tell myself.
And God’s reply is, “No, you certainly can’t…but My strength is made perfect in your weakness.  I would have you to resemble Me more and more every day. I offer all you need today to make this possible– all things are possible with Me.”
Today, I will choose to believe, act on, and claim His promises. I will try to love instead of judge. I will make my best effort to act instead of react. I will determine to do the hard thing and deny self. I will give up the exhaustion that comes from mustering this up from my own meager resources. For His glory. To beautify His name. So I can look like Him.
Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things,endures all things. 1 Cor. 13:4-7
Who revels in that? Our heavenly Father.
One thought on “I Want to Look Like Love.

  1. Romans 5:8 (NASB) 8 But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

    Makes God’s love so much more than my feeble attempts to be a nice person. Only IN Christ can we love like Him.

Leave a Reply

