Be a Do-Bee

This morning, while sipping my French Vanilla coffee, still snuggled in my fuzzy Christmas robe, this was the word God had for me:

“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.”

When we pray for God to open our eyes as we read, He will be purposeful in guiding our understanding. He wants us to move far past “checking off the box” that we did our reading. He wants it to affect our living. He wants to meet with us, and change us.

Have you ever looked into a mirror in someone’s house, a department store dressing room, or a thrift store, and things looked a bit wonky? You looked too short, too tall, too wavy, or just weirdly disproportionate. The passage above tells me this–if I look into that mirror of the Word, it will be perfectly accurate in what is reflected. The Spirit will reveal with crisp, clear accuracy exactly what we look like inside.

dobeeMany (many!) years ago, I watched a show called “Romper Room” as a child. From that show, my mom picked up the phrase “be a Do-Bee“. The song says “I always do what’s right, I never do anything wrong.” Well, that’s not exactly realistic, knowing human nature; however, the idea was that I was given information on what was right, and I needed to act upon it. I still try to teach this idea to our children… obedience, right away, the first time they are told. But how am I doing with this?

Today when we read, let’s simply ask God to show us what’s right. He’ll never refuse. Then let’s determine to be a doer of what He shows us.

Leave a Reply

