Using What You Have

encourage3Several years ago, a verse from the Old Testament caught my attention while I was preparing for a ladies retreat session on spiritual gifts. It was not your “typical” passage you see used for this topic:

And Moses answered and said, But, behold, they will not believe me, nor hearken unto my voice: for they will say, The LORD hath not appeared unto thee. And the LORD said unto him, What is that in thine hand? And he said, A rod. Exodus 4:1,2

Moses doubted himself frequently. God asked a simple question…”What do you have?”

What is in your hand today, ladies? How can God use it for His purposes? Long ago I discovered that the pen (or keyboard as the case may be) in my hand needed to belong to Him, because He wanted to use it for Himself.

So, every time I see something from His pen in my hand published, there is a feeling I can’t describe. A gratitude-rejoicing-satisfying-validation. Like when a child of ours is given a directive, completes it in a timely manner and to the best of their ability, and they come back to tell us it’s been done. They look for our approving smile, and listen for our words of affirmation.

So today I am blessed to be holding in my hands a copy of the Encouraging Word magazine, which includes a post from this blog.

encourage1

This magazine, now in its 16th year of publication, is designed for Christian women of all ages. The senior editor contacted me several months ago, asking if I’d be interested in being a contributor. What a blessing to see approval and affirmation from my Father in having my writing published again after so long a season. I’m beyond grateful to be useful.

What’s in your hand today? A spatula? Paint brush? Baby bottle? Story book? Whatever it is, use it for Him.

Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God. 1 Cor. 10:31

Leave a Reply

