What Am I Supposed to Look Like?

girlmirrorWhat’s “out”? What’s “in”? Shoulder pads? Platform shoes? Skinny jeans? Leisure suits? Infinity scarves? Scrunchies? Fashion is fickle, isn’t it? What was “out” last year may be back “in” in the next decade. I wish I would have kept some stuff from my high school years…I could get big bucks on eBay now!

I find great peace in the fact that God looks past all of that. Really, He could care less if we are trendy. And what does matter to Him never changes. He wants me to look like Jesus.

This morning, I read this description:

“For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power.”

Have you seen people who look like this lately? They are everywhere, aren’t they? Why? Because it’s easy to look like this. Think of it as “bedhead of the soul”. When we don’t look into the mirror of God’s word, of course we will remain unchanged. And society encourages this “take me as I am” attitude.

Doesn’t God want me “just as I am”? Certainly He does, because there is no other option (to start out with, anyway). He knows that all of us are all of those things in the quote above, easily and by nature. He wants me “just as I am”…but He also loves me too much to let me stay that way.

So, how does God want me to look?

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

How does this happen? Not naturally, I assure you. We must look into that mirror of God’s word, ask Him to show us what HE sees, and then ask His help to make us more like Him.

But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.

Look. Persevere. Listen. Do. If you seek Him, He promises He will be found. He’ll give you the makeover of your life!

Leave a Reply

