“Remember my chains.”

chainshandsThis is one of the closing phrases of Paul’s letter to the Colossians. Just three words, but so full of meaning.

There is no begging for rescue or deliverance here. Because (as he said earlier) he had learned to be content in “whatsoever state” God chose for him.

There is no bemoaning his chains, no whining or complaining. Only “remember”…be mindful of them, and why he was wearing them (which includes the realization that persecution could also come to his readers).

Paul showed the believers of the young Church so many times how to “endure hardness as a good soldier of Jesus Christ“. He even sang in his chains!

I wonder. When hardness comes my way, how do I–how will I “endure”? Since I know that God is always purposeful, He never makes mistakes, and He never wastes time, then I can be assured (no doubts, no questions at all) that whatever is happening right now is something He is fully aware of, and He is not hindered by any of it.

“There hath not failed one word of all his good promise.”

His purposes cannot be thwarted– except by our own stubborn will.

So what is the most important thing for me to be doing every day? What is the thing our children (and whoever else might be looking on) needs to see? What does God wish to see?

“Not my will, but thine be done.”

These are our Savior’s words. They are not mere resignation. This is not saying, “I’ve done everything else I know to do, so there you have it.” There is no shrugging of the shoulders, or rolling of the eyes, or an “oh well” attitude. This is determination. This is submission with an eye toward the future and what “good” God will bring out of whatever is going on.

Because He is good, and His mercy endures forever.

2 thoughts on ““Remember my chains.”

  1. So glad I found your site–popped in looking for a picture of chains and plan to use the pic also in the post I am working on. Ill give credit to your site, unless you have a photo credit name?
    But that aside, thanks for this “message” Truly, God help us Be Content at all costs in all circumstances and to trust that indeed, He’s Got This.
    Love to you from Holland,
    Jasmine

Leave a Reply

