Rejoicingly Spilled Out

splashhandSome soul dissection today.

“Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all.” Phil. 2:17

We want “bang” for our buck. We want a return on our investment. Are we content to wait until we stand before God’s throne to see it?

Am I willing to be sacrificially poured out, all over the dirt, and watch my time, talents, efforts, prayers…everything I give…sink down into the earth for no one to see? Am I okay with being spilled out, emptied in this life? Not only am I okay with this…am I “glad” and “rejoicing” about it?

Splashes of my life, drips, streams, sometimes torrents have been offered. Not always with gushing exuberance. Seldom with holy abandon. Sometimes in a reluctant trickle, diverting the flow as long as possible so that I might keep every precious drop to myself.

To be lovingly, decidedly reckless in the tipping of my vessel…I want that.

Leave a Reply

