The Manicure Legacy

Soul searching going on. Proceed with caution.

I remember many years ago when I was teaching classes of freshman girls at BJU, one student came up to me at the end of the semester to say goodbye.

“I’ll really miss your class, Miss Cannon…” she began.

I then prepared to hear of some fond memory, a lesson learned, a nugget of truth brought to light, some sort of lasting inspiration or impression.

She continued, “…you always looked so together, and your manicures are so pretty.”

You know that needle-scratching-across-an-old-LP sound? I think I heard that.

Really? This is my legacy? Dress stylishly, girls…and don’t forget to coordinate your polish.

It made me feel sick. Was that it? Oh, God forbid.  Please…no.

It was humbling. Even if that student had not been “catching what I was throwing” all semester…her compliment still stung my spirit and rang in my ears long afterwards.

It still does.

What am I teaching to my current “class”…our three kids? What do my words and actions each day say to them about priorities?

“Cleanliness is next to godliness”?

I talk about cleaning up a lot. Yes, it is about stewardship…but there is so much more I want as a takeaway from my life.

When I am gone from this place, what will be that last image they have in their minds? Me, standing there with one hand on a hip, and the other on the Swiffer? Ugh. How much will dust and a few footprints matter then?

So, that God may be glorified… I’m reading. I’m studying. I’m memorizing. I’m trying to love people. Praying God will help me live the fruit.

When you pray for stuff like that, look out. Oh, the opportunities I’ve had to test the love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness and patience in this fragile life of mine!

I’ve been reading Paul’s epistle to the Philippians every day for about a week. I will continue to do so for many months. I highly recommend this kind of approach. These things are already burrowing deep into my thought processes:

According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death...Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves. Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others. Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus…Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ, that I have not run in vain, neither laboured in vain...Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ, And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith…Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus...Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you...”

God, make me worthwhile for you. Let me show by my life that loving You, wanting You most, is worth it.

“Let us so live that when we die, we live on, like Abel, who being dead yet speaketh. The only way to do this is to live in the power of the Immortal God, under the influence of his Holy Spirit: then out of our graves we shall speak to future generations.” (Excerpted from “Bought With a Price“,  a sermon by Charles H. Spurgeon)

Leave a Reply

