“National Splurge Day” and What I’m Doing For Me

joy1I didn’t even know that “National Splurge Day” existed until a friend posted about it today. I got inspired. I will choose joy.

Being a writer by nature, and with a teacher’s heart, it is very hard for me to study without a sense of “usefulness” running like a program in the background of my Bible study. I find myself continually thinking of how I can use what I’m learning for Jr. Church, a ladies Bible study, my online Bible study group, an outline for a ladies retreat…something. I honestly can’t remember the last time I got serious about studying for myself. Just for me. Making it really, truly a time of devotion. So, this is what I’m doing for me.

Valley of Vision and Hymns Modern & Ancient

“Valley of Vision” and “Hymns Modern & Ancient”

Finally found a use for the lovely journal our oldest daughter gave me months back.

Finally found a use for the lovely journal our oldest daughter gave me months back.

Part of the "Philippians in 28 Days" memorization program.

Part of the “Philippians in 28 Weeks” memorization program.

"Be Joyful" by Wiersbe.

“Be Joyful” by Wiersbe.

My frugal soul loves this realization…the only thing that I paid for was the 3-ring notebook. The journal, as I mentioned, was a gift from our daughter Erin. My copy of “Valley of Vision” was gifted to me by Nancy Leigh DeMoss. My copy of “Hymns Ancient & Modern” was gifted to me by Elizabeth Berg, a dear soul I’ve gotten to know through Facebook. The copy of “Philippians in 28 Weeks” I obtained months ago (maybe a year…but I wasn’t ready yet for it then) through a special online giveaway. The copy of “Be Joyful” for Kindle I got free from Amazon. The Bible shown I also got free through an “Encouragement for Mom Bundle” giveaway!

Can you feel me grinning?? 🙂 I’m excited about this “indulgence”. It brings tears to my eyes. Maybe this will inspire someone else today.

Leave a Reply

