Daily in the Word: Jesus, and “Just As I Am”

“Many Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me all that I ever did.” So when the Samaritans came to him, they asked him to stay with them, and he stayed there two days. And many more believed because of his word. They said to the woman, “It is no longer because of what you said that we believe, for we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this is indeed the Savior of the world.”

Remember what we said about the Samaritans and the Jews yesterday? See here. Jesus was welcomed by them. The walls of prejudice were broken down. How? Simply this…grace and truth.

“And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.” John 1:14

one-size-fits-allHe did not change His message. It was not watered down, or made “politically correct” for a Samaritan audience. The gospel is one-size-fits-all. He dispensed it faithfully, “speaking the truth in love”. (Eph. 4:15)

Is this what we look like when we attempt to share our faith with “those kind” of people…the ones outside our comfort zone? Do we ask good questions which reveal the truth and expose the needy soul? Or do we take a Pharisaical approach, and give folks a shopping list of all the things they are doing wrong…offering the gospel as a way to do them right?

Let’s humbly welcome more sheep into the fold alongside us, instead of creating a new crop of little Pharisees. Show the love of the Savior, who welcomes us just as we are.

You may think you know the words to this “invitation hymn” below…you may have sung them hundreds of times. But read them today thoughtfully. I challenge you to read them out loud, to get the tune out of your head.Think through them. They are so much more than just a way to close a church service.

Just as I am, without one plea,
But that Thy blood was shed for me,
And that Thou bid’st me come to Thee,
O Lamb of God, I come! I come!

Just as I am, and waiting not
To rid my soul of one dark blot;
To Thee whose blood can cleanse each spot,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, though tossed about
With many a conflict, many a doubt;
Fightings within, and fears without,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, poor, wretched, blind;
Sight, riches, healing of the mind;
Yes, all I need, in Thee to find,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, Thou wilt receive,
Wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve;
Because Thy promise I believe,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, Thy love unknown
Has broken every barrier down;
Now, to be Thine, yea, Thine alone,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Leave a Reply

