Weekly “I Want God” post: God and Martha Stewart

We’re reading pages 51-54 today.

Several phrases caught my eye, and grabbed my heart:

“In a moment that looks like Jesus…”

Oh, how I want to have more and more of these! May I be forgotten…may people see Him!

May His beauty rest upon me,
As I seek the lost to win,
And may they forget the channel,
Seeing only Him.

“…things will never be enough…”

Lisa uses the term “hedonism” in today’s brief reading. Here is the definition:

the ethical theory that pleasure (in the sense of the satisfaction of desires) is the highest good and proper aim of human life.

We have a hedonistic society…pay attention to commercials and ads. They speak of all things comfy and convenient, instantly available, plush and luxurious. Self indulgence is encouraged…even admonished as a way of life. After all, we are “worth it”.

paint swatchWomen tend to be security-oriented beings, and I think we need to exercise an extra measure of caution because of this. Many of us like to be “nesters” who like things just so. Here is a post I put down way back in 2009, when I got a complimentary copy of Martha Stewart’s magazine. Would you concur?

“…the fuzzy dice we hang from the rear view mirror of our car…”

And when we look back on our lives, will it be only those “cheap replacements for God” that we see? The possessions that broke or rusted or got lost? The relationships that were too fragile to stand the test of time and trial? The hopes and dreams that were dashed because we never laid them out before Him? The investments of time and money that went sour?

Only one life, ’twill soon be past,Only what’s done for Christ will last.” C. T. Studd

“Comfort is better than You.”

Was there sort of an inward gasp in your spirit when you read that statement? We lie to ourselves all the time in our self talk. If we were this frank in expressing the true motivations in our hearts, if we saw ourselves as He does, perhaps we’d see the glimmer of personal revival on the horizon of our hearts.

It might be a good idea to ask for this today.

Search me, O God, and know my heart!
    Try me and know my thoughts!
And see if there be any grievous way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting! Psalm 139:23,24

Leave a Reply

