Why We Are Grumpy Givers

mite“Truly, I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them. For they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on.”

Are you a cheerful giver? Delighted to empty your pockets for the Lord’s work? Quite honestly, I’ve found myself to vacillate on this. When the bills are paid, and the pantry is full…yes, I’m cheerful. But if we have been stretched and perhaps have doctor bills looming in the future, or an anticipated and expensive repair coming up…not so much. On those days I can consider what’s in my wallet, and figure out what I might be able to “spare.”

The problem is not money. It is in my (perhaps your) understanding of who God is, and where that money came from in the first place.

He is the God who spoke everything into existence, without any fund raisers. He made a bumper crop of manna in the desert…sufficient for everyone’s need, but no provision was made to gather it in advance, to stock pile or hoard it. Think about that one.

When He healed Naaman, He gave him the skin of a baby…fresh, new, perfect skin…not merely healed skin of a tough army captain. He fed multitudes on more than one occasion…thousands left with full tummies and baskets of leftovers for the next day. He filled all the water pots at a wedding in Cana with the most superior kind of wine…the sort reserved for the beginning of a feast when palates are more particular.

Our God is one of lavish giving, of abundant provision. Consider your salvation!

So why do we struggle? Because we forget who He is…and also because we fail to exhibit our faith in the knowledge of His benevolence by giving open-handedly to those in need. We count the cost, and if we decide we can’t spare the funds, we not only fail to bless others, but we rob ourselves of a lot as well.

“Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.” Luke 6:38

Consider. Believe. Give. Bless.

2 thoughts on “Why We Are Grumpy Givers

  1. Diane, How PERFECT your devotion was for me today. We have a pastor in Botswana that only contacts us when he needs money. We have had this man in our home and love him, he has a deep knowledge of the Word of God and how to apply it, but we havent seem him for about 8 years. We have MANY bills coming due for our adoption and he asked for money. I was upset and thought, let someone else meet his need, we have our own. I discouraged Nick and was grumpy. Then our fundraiser with friends has kinda flopped and I was a bit frustrated. Now, you need to understand, I have said these things to myself MANY times and am CHOOSING to walk this journey in faith and joy, but I am surprised at my flesh reactions in teh moments that I am tested. So THANK you for reminding me of truth so that I can rest in the provision of GOD, not myself. Love you DEARLY!

    In Christ, Michele

    Date: Thu, 30 Apr 2015 14:31:39 +0000 To: indyloo5@msn.com

Leave a Reply

