When I Need to Know God is Bigger

mts2Yesterday was a day for reminding. There was pressing from every side, and it just seemed I was not enough for anything that I needed to do. I was scraping all my gumption into a feeble little pile…and the Wyoming winds just blew it through my fingers.

Know what sharpened my vision and lifted the burden? A brief drive down a country road. I happened to look up when I came to a stop, and saw this loveliness from a distance (this shot I actually took when I got home, from the back deck).

It was as if I could hear God saying,

“I’m much bigger than you are remembering today, Diane. You have too many voices making demands in your head…and your self talk isn’t helping. Remember me. Remember that I made this. Remember that I made you…and I knew your name and what I wanted to do in your life long before you made your entrance into this world of Mine. None of that has changed. I change not. Take a moment to worship. It will make you feel small, and that is good. I do my best work with small, weak things.”

This morning, a dear friend reminded me again, whispering these words in my ear: “His grace is sufficient.” “He restoreth your soul.” Keep on keeping on. To be a vessel is hard….but Glory will be that much more glorious when we get there.”

I love Wyoming. I hope I never have to leave here. I love the big sky that shimmers with a billion points of light on a clear night. I love having nothing at all to block my view. Some say there is “nothing” to see. I love the acres of dusty sagebrush. I love seeing wild horses…SO good for the soul. I love the vastness of it all. It reminds me of my all-powerful, all-knowing, everywhere-present Father… the one I can trust implicitly, the one I love more adoringly each day. The Creator of it all.

3 thoughts on “When I Need to Know God is Bigger

  1. Thank you for this reminder. I came across it in my email today even though you posted it 9 days ago and it was exactly what I needed to read today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

