More

“Hey, how is doing your own thing going for you? How is that eating a lot, drinking a lot, shopping a lot, making a lot of money thing working out? It’s what you wanted, right?”

moreWhat Lisa has described is the American Dream…excess of everything. I don’t know how many times I have marveled that there is a whole aisle full of breakfast cereals at the grocery store. Abundance of everything…and yet, somehow it is never enough. And we have TV commercials to remind us of that. There always seems to be something newer, better, bigger, shinier, sportier, healthier, snazzier… Isn’t lack of contentment what got Adam and Eve into trouble in the first place? We need to get our want-ers straightened out. “I Want God” is an excellent place to start.

“Is it a time for you yourselves to dwell in your paneled houses, while this house lies in ruins? Now, therefore, thus says the Lord of hosts: Consider your ways. You have sown much, and harvested little. You eat, but you never have enough; you drink, but you never have your fill. You clothe yourselves, but no one is warm. And he who earns wages does so to put them into a bag with holes.” Haggai 1:4-6

Really, this scripture was the most convicting thing for me from the pages we read today. I think mainly because it did not only address my lack of contentedness, but also that in my seeking more, I am giving Him less. They had fancy houses, but the temple was not finished.God’s directives were relegated to the back seat.

Then I consider my past week. How was my time used? How did I use my resources? Where did I find my “treasure”? Was it in more stuff? Was it in something more eternal in value?

“Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” Matt. 6:19-21

“No one ever has it all when they build it for themselves.”

selfmadeGod designs our lives in such a way that we may attempt to be “self made” men and women…but there will never be lasting fulfillment in it. Take a look at the book of Ecclesiastes, and you’ll find this idea posted in bright, neon colors. Vanity…without God as our purpose, our means, and our end…all is vanity.

Leave a Reply

