Weekly “I Want God” Post: The Courage of Florrie Evans

“Revive deep spirituality in my heart; Let me live near to the great Shepherd, hear his voice, know its tones, follow its calls.”

“Valley of Vision” is one of my favorite resources, and I am reminded today that I need to incorporate it into my quiet time each day again. Get your copy here.

Valley CollageDid I ever tell you ladies the story behind my copy? I’ve loved the book for a long time, and I noticed Nancy Leigh DeMoss was posting excerpts. I had corresponded with her before about donations to various events I’ve held on FB, so we were “friends” here. I commented that I’d love to have a copy of V o V some day. She had her assistant send me a private message asking for my address…she wanted to send me a copy. And it arrived…a beautiful leather bound treasure, with her kind words as an inscription inside. The gesture still speaks volumes to me. A very busy lady, a godly lady, who took the time to show a kindness to an unknown pastor’s wife in a tiny Wyoming town. A sweet example.

“I love Jesus with all of my heart…many say it is one of the cataylsts of How Jesus changed people in the Welsh Revival.”

–Never, ever discount the power of your few and feeble words. You know, we spend a lot of time thinking about the negatives of the power of the tongue…but I would encourage you to think about the positives in these verses from James:

“Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body. Behold also the ships, which though they be so great, and are driven of fierce winds, yet are they turned about with a very small helm, whithersoever the governor listeth. Even so the tongue is a little member, and boasteth great things. Behold, how great a matter a little fire kindleth!”

florrie

Florrie Evans

–What kind of fire was lit because of these eight words out of the mouth of a teenaged girl named Florrie! Politicians may control, woo, and sway with fancy rhetoric…but we have TRUTH.

“It is always loving God more than other things that makes us brave.”

–Isn’t it true? I find this to play out often in my life because the primary “other thing” is myself. My pride. My entitlements. My rights. My comfort. My preferences and convenience. I know. Ouch. I get brave (not just comfortable in my own skin, doing the things I think I have the wherewithal to do) when I set aside the questions. “What will they think?” “What if I fail?” “Where will I find the strength?” Let’s douse those questions with some Living Water today.

Leave a Reply

