Triage

keep-calm-and-triage-the-hearts“My son, give me thine heart, and let thine eyes observe my ways.” Prov. 23:26

Our second grader has been learning a Bible verse for each letter of the alphabet. Above is her verse for M. She writes it a few times a day, and recites the whole set every day, adding on the new one for the week.

I’ve been thinking about this one.  For a while. It does not say, “give me your music standards” or “give me your clothing preferences”. It says “give me your heart”.

Out of our hearts (our innermost beings, what makes us tick) everything issues.

“Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.”  Prov. 4:23

The word “keep” is a military term, and it means to guard. Protect it. My kids will tell you that I often admonish them to guard their hearts when it comes to friends, music, viewing, reading, and thinking habits.

What do I want from our kids? Three young people who have given me their outward standards and appear “good”? Children whom everyone praises for their conformity?

Nope.

It’s a messy business, but I want their hearts.  It’s sort of a triage. That means that there may be some things people observe in our kids, about which they may shake their heads and “tsk, tsk”.  But, you know what? I’m starting to be okay with that.  Because I know that although not everything observable is perfect, I am aiming at a deeper target. A higher priority which will govern it all, in time. What do I want for our kids?

“He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good; and what doth the LORD require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?” Micah 6:8

I refuse to play the “you’re a pastor’s kid” card. Their accountability transcends far beyond what people may expect of them. I want them to know it. I want them first to consider God’s opinion. He looks beyond the outward appearance, and into the heart. He sees it all.

“Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do.” Heb. 4:13

This is what I want them to pay the most attention to…El Roi, “thou God seest me” (which is another of Katie’s memory verses).

So, you’ll see our kids behave imperfectly. They are sinners, just like you and me. They are individuals who have to learn to discern. We are attempting to teach them. 🙂 We are triaging.

Leave a Reply

