The Secret Ingredient

heartbottleA word of encouragement today, to my friends who struggle with continual illness and the feelings of uselessness that can accompany it.

I did not choose to be relapsing during Thanksgiving this year, but because I was, there was no way for me to keep up with everything. I had to admit it. So, instead of the feast which magically appears on the table, we all chipped in to make Thanksgiving dinner a reality this year. Patrick helped me slice potatoes and carve the turkey; Erin peeled potatoes and did some cleaning and set the table; Michael vacuumed for me and was eager to do whatever I couldn’t; and Katie helped with the pie, was an excellent taste tester for the yeast rolls…and she made some decorations. 🙂 Everyone remarked how delicious the meal was. Do you know the secret ingredient?

Thursday morning a sweet, sweet lady from our church dropped off a delicious apple pie. She knew the night before had been very rough for me and I still had an apple pie to make. Her compassion worked itself out in the form of delicately sliced apples and flaky crust. How precious to me that she would want to do this! I had gotten up early to make my own (really, I sliced the apples and Katie did the rest in her own little way), and while it was bubbling in the oven, this treasure arrived. We had plenty of wonderful pie for those who dropped by!

So, my friend who deals with weakness…realize that your condition is not only purposeful for you (because God never wastes time), but that others may have a gift of helps that can be awakened and/or exercised because you allow yourself to need them. Put your pride aside and allow others to be the elbow or wrist or feet that you need. We are all part of the same body.

But now hath God set the members every one of them in the body, as it hath pleased him. And if they were all one member, where were the body? But now are they many members, yet but one body. 1 Cor 12:18-20

Leave a Reply

