How God, Strength and Joy Mix

I mentioned some kid’s songs in my last post. Did you grow up with this one:

Yikes. I did. And now, every time I hear Nehemiah 8:10 quoted, I have a hard time taking it seriously.  I keep hearing, “Hahahahahahahahahaha-ha-ha!” Oh dear.

So, I decided to get serious about it and study.  Here is what one of my favorite “dead guys” says about this joy. Charles Spurgeon says this joy is…

a deep sense of reconciliation to God, of acceptance with God, and yet, beyond that, of adoption and close relationship to God.

Earlier in the same sermon, he refers to it as “joy refined and satisfying, befitting immortal spirits.”  Refined as in purified.  This transcends happiness, which is reliant upon circumstances, like this:

Oh what a beautiful morning,

Oh what a wonderful day

I’ve got a beautiful feeling

Everything’s going my way!

Joy remains even when everything is not going our way…because it is anchored in timeless truth.  Paul knew this. In his letter to the young preacher, Timothy, he states:

For the which cause I also suffer these things: nevertheless I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.~2 Tim. 1:12

And that, my friends, is why he was singing while he was in prison.  It is also why he could say, in spite of his infirmities (aside from his “thorn in the flesh” think of the many injuries he suffered which most probably had lasting effect):

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. ~2 Cor. 12:9,10

David, the Shepherd King wrote this:

The king shall joy in thy strength, O LORD; and in thy salvation how greatly shall he rejoice! ~Psalm 21:1

Having such confidence in our standing before God, as Spurgeon spoke of, is a strengthening, bolstering, uplifting thing. It enables us to sing this song with gusto:

We have an anchor that keeps the soul

Steadfast and sure while the billows roll,

Fastened to the Rock which cannot move,

Grounded firm and deep in the Savior’s love.

Do you know Him?  Do you find deep, abiding, heartening joy in the fact that you are His, and He is yours?  If this is not yet the case, I’d like to invite you to click here.

And here is some music well worth listening to:

If you have questions about what you find at this link, please feel free to contact me:

Leave a Reply

