Inch by Inch

stairs“Never stare at the stairs,  just step up the steps!  Little by little, inch by inch!”

This is part of the chorus of a children’s song we’ve known for years. Have you ever noticed that some of the best doctrine is in what we call “children’s music”?

Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so!

Oh, be careful, little eyes what you see!

My God is so big, so strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do!

This idea of “inch by inch” is something we need to grab hold of when we deal with chronic illness.  Boy howdy, I know from experience how bad things can be if the house has fallen into disorganization and then I pull out all the stops, mopping, dusting, vacuuming, laundering, straightening, washing. Not. Good.

How do I avoid this? I’m learning to ask God what I ought to be doing, instead of cramming my mental Daytimer and pressing ahead.

What next, Lord?

After this, what?

I love this poem, which drives home this point:

From an old English parsonage down by the sea
There came in the twilight a message to me;
Its quaint Saxon legend, deeply engraven,
Hath, it seems to me, teaching from Heaven.
And on through the doors the quiet words ring
Like a low inspiration: “DOE THE NEXTE THYNGE.”

Many a questioning, many a fear,
Many a doubt, hath its quieting here.
Moment by moment, let down from Heaven,
Time, opportunity, and guidance are given.
Fear not tomorrows, child of the King,
Trust them with Jesus, doe the nexte thynge.

Do it immediately, do it with prayer;
Do it reliantly, casting all care;
Do it with reverence, tracing His hand
Who placed it before thee with earnest command.
Stayed on Omnipotence, safe ‘neath His wing,
Leave all results, doe the nexte thynge.

And click here for a lovely commentary on this by one of my favorite ladies, Elisabeth Elliot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

