Sunday Hymnary: “I Know No Other Jesus” by James M. Gray

I know no other Jesus
Than He who died for me
The Savior of lost sinners
The Christ of Calvary

I know no “ideal” Jesus
That human minds invent
The only Jesus Christ I know
Is whom the Father sent

That human Christs could save me
Is inadmissible
My Jesus is the image
Of God invisible

My Christ is God incarnate
And of the Virgin born
He left a crown of glory
To wear a plaited thorn

The Infant of the manger
The village Carpenter
The Teacher sent from heaven
To men to minister

The true historic Jesus
Who died and rose again
He only is the Jesus
That I proclaim to men.

One thought on “Sunday Hymnary: “I Know No Other Jesus” by James M. Gray

Leave a Reply

