Knick Knack, Paddy Whack, Buy a Box of Ding Dongs

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.(Galatians 6:9 ESV)

So, I checked the scale yesterday, although my official day to do so is not until Friday.  From all appearances, nothing is happening.  Nothing measurable anyway.  I am learning to be okay with that.

I will confess, after being faithful in drinking water, cutting out high calorie foods and drinks, enduring the presence and sometimes the preparation of cookies, pies, cakes, meatball subs and all sorts of taboo goodies, trying not to eat after 6 pm, eliminating wheat, and counting calories, I was expecting a bit more a bit sooner.

What I have been instructed in today is that there is change taking place.  It is in my mind, and that is of supreme importance if I am ever going to overcome.  All battles with sin begin in the mind.  “Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks” (and eats).   There are choices, however seemingly small, that lead to actions.  I am teaching my mind to think differently, not only about what I am putting in my body, but also about what victory really is.

Yes, I will admit (as I did to a dear fellow dieting friend yesterday) that the thought did cross my mind that if I was going through all these contortions and not having much to show for it, I may as well grab a box of Ding Dongs (at 368 calories a piece…whoa) and have a party.  No, the thought did not stay for long.  But it was there.

Then I realized it would be just another waving of the white flag.  So many come to this point in their quest to regain a healthy weight.  It is HARD to persevere with no tangible results.  But this is a life lesson, not just a dieting lesson.  So often when I am teaching my children basic things like how to sit still in church, how to follow instructions specifically in school, how to show mercy to others, I will remind them that the lesson has application beyond that isolated event, and will continue to impact them for the rest of their lives.  It is just so with me as well.

Realize you are not alone in this battle.  There is a strong and mighty Savior who wants to help you overcome.  He has overcome with resurrection power, and makes that same power available to you!  And, even in those quiet days or weeks when not much seems to be happening, rest assured He is at work.  Just ask a butterfly. 😉  And remember, there are fellow Christians who will lock shields with you when yours alone is not sufficient against the fiery darts.  If you do not have that kind of support in your weight loss struggle, let me know.

One thought on “Knick Knack, Paddy Whack, Buy a Box of Ding Dongs

Leave a Reply

