York Peppermint Patties!

Anyone who knows me well understands that I love chocolate.  The darker the better.  But chocolate and mint together, well!

These have been a favorite of mine for a long time, and the best way to eat them is in their mini size.  Frankly, the regular size is too much for me.  The minis are just right, give me a nice dark chocolate fix with mint, they are low in fat AND (drum roll please!) only 50 calories a piece!  Not bad!  I never crave more than one, either.  That is important.  I set myself up for failure choosing things that trigger the “that tastes like more” impulse.

The flavor of these little gems is so potent that I am easily happy with just one, and real sugar is much more satisfying to me than fake sweeteners (plus I don’t care for the aftertaste or the aftermath of most of them).  I will rarely do saccharin, and I never do Nutra Sweet or Splenda.  Call me old fashioned, but I don’t trust ’em. What I’ve read over the years is not encouraging.  Plus, artificial sweeteners added to something as delightful as chocolate just isn’t right in my book. 🙂

When you need a chocolate fix, decide that you will savor it.  I once bought a bag of good–not the cheap plastic kind– semi sweet chocolate chips (hid them in the freezer not only because the kids would not find them, but also because being cold, they last longer), and I would pop a few in my mouth when I wanted something sweet.  Not on the fly, but while I was doing something relatively still.  I would let them just melt.  Enjoy the flavor.  Make it an experience.  I know it sounds corny, but teaching yourself to pay attention to flavors and textures helps you come away from a caloric experience with more finality.  Your creator gave you taste buds for a reason.  Use them.  Don’t bypass them by throwing food down your gullet. 😉

Anyway, for an occasional treat, these are a big WIN!  Get the sensation!

3 thoughts on “York Peppermint Patties!

  1. Have you tried Stevia? It’s the big no calorie sweetener around the health (not figure) conscience of Seattle. It’s available now in a generic form at our Safeway and Target. I’m trying to switch to it since I have long been dependent on the other artificial sweeteners as a diabetic.

    I’ve had the most success with Atkins/South Beach style low carb diets personally. Again, that may be linked to my diabetes. I’ve thanked God many, many times that sugar and sweets are something I don’t really crave. Truly a gift of His grace to a diabetic. I have averaged around 58 units of insulin daily in my insulin pump over the holidays. Yesterday, I only needed 47 units, and I wasn’t hungry in between. He provided food I wanted that fit my goals. I can only praise Him for this success, for I’ve failed at that so many times.

  2. Praising the Lord with you!!! And yes, I am best buddies with Stevia, although I don’t care for it in coffee. I use concentrated drops in my cleansing tea “religiously”. It does not create the “I need more” that some other sweeteners do. Doesn’t mess with the blood sugar. Yay! It’s great stuff!

  3. I’m a chocoholic! Over the holidays, I was an out-of-control chocoholic, and I’m working on getting rid of the extra pounds. I’d never thought of peppermint patties for a little treat. I’m pretty sure I couldn’t plow through an entire bag of those like I could some chocolate candies! I’ll have to give them a try. Love your new blog! So encouraging!

Leave a Reply

