Call Me a Prude

I went grocery shopping with Kate the other day.  She enjoys Go Gurt, so when I found some reduced to half price, I bought them, even though they had a Sponge Bob picture on them.  I am not part of his fan club, and I am even less so today.  I thought we were picking up strawberry and blueberry yogurt.  Come to find out the blueberry is called “bikini bottom berry”.  What is up with that???  Now, Kate can’t yet read much, so no biggie there.  But this mom is sick to death of anatomical humor.

We wonder why kids are crude…why they have no respect for privacy (I’ve seen things referenced in movie previews…in G rated movies…that our kids have been instructed to call “private parts”).  There used to be a concern about our little girls adopting a “princess mentality” that not only encourages a self serving attitude but also teaches “love at first sight”.  Biblical principles?  Not even remotely.  Now, our children (if we are not careful in policing things) are barraged with crude input everywhere they turn.  The humor that went “over our heads” as kids mainly consisted of signs that were held up by Wile E. Coyote, allusions to popular celebrities of that era, or song lyrics.  Now the humor that goes “over the heads” (and perhaps not, with added exposure) of children has to do with sexual innuendo and bodily functions.

Another big complication to this equation is that when children are loaded up with this language and imagery from the time that they can grasp jokes and visual humor (in music videos too…I was appalled to see what a little girl, no more than 10, was watching on the internet during our last trip to the library…seductive moves, sensuous facial expressions…yikes…and then there’s the fashion industry, selling push-up undergarments with Hello Kitty on them?!?), it becomes normal to them.  Further, when they reach early adolescence, with a brain jammed full of this, and beginning to stir up feelings and thoughts…and they are still in that stage of childhood where their main relationships are same-sex, then we have a bigger problem.  No, I don’t believe people are “born gay” any more than they are born a thief.  I am not inviting debate on this post with regard to this.  I do believe that those who have chosen a homosexual lifestyle are a slave to that thing.  Sin is sin, and we are all born into it.  We can’t help but sin (whatever way that is manifested) without the help of a Deliverer.

My concern is, Hollywood is sowing seeds of base thought and animal impulse.  We will reap the whirlwind if we are not proactive.  As Christian parents, we must teach our children how to think, and how to renew their minds.  Kids don’t need to be taught to be crude.  They come by it naturally.  Why would I want to build up that inclination…or worse, reinforce it by teaching them that the body is anything less than a holy thing, wonderfully created by an infinitely wise Creator?  Why would I want to allow my kids to view things that I would never allow them to do or say?  Sometimes we watch something at home (if it’s new, the rule is that a parent watches with them), and ten minutes into it, we have to turn it off.  At times that means I’m the bad guy.  I’m okay with that.  I want to save them from having those images burned into their gray matter…because once they are there, they are awfully hard to erase.

I was saved while a graduating senior with aspirations of hitting it big in New York.  In my theater circles, there was very little, if any regard for modesty.  I had a drama instructor who encouraged me to dress seductively, saying, “If you’ve got it, flaunt it.”  After all, that’s how you get the best parts.  I was saved from that.  Why would I want to grab my kids and immerse them in it?  As a Christian parent, I can’t, and I won’t.

And it is my prayer that your love may abound more and more, with knowledge and all discernment, so that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.~Philippians 1:9-11

6 thoughts on “Call Me a Prude

  1. “Preach it!” Diane! I wish there were more parents like you out there. May many read this and see the need… Thanks for the encouragement as I have desired to do the same with my children.

  2. I think that every generation has its “acceptable sin” for public consumption. My wife is surprised at the violence she has seen in some of the old Looney Tunes cartoons, and I know that some have been censored because of racist undertones– same with some of the Disney stuff.

    Our kids need to be taught the good, and then to choose the good over the evil. A tough challenge for us parents indeed.

  3. Pingback: Carnival of Modesty for August 6th 2011 : Is This Modest?

Leave a Reply

