Mega Colossal Superlative Man

Kids love super heroes, and they have been around forever.  Superman, Iron Man, Captain America, Green Lantern, Spider Man…they are household words.  There are reams of comic books which sing their praises.  Through the years, the collection of lunch boxes, t shirts, bed sheets, rain boots, and Happy Meal toys emblazoned with their images has grown to mega proportions.  What’s the fascination?

We want someone who has the answers to everything.  Someone who can fix everything.  Someone who makes us feel safe.  Someone we can count on, who will always come to our rescue.  Many of us have had fathers who fit that description, at least for a few years of our childhood.  But eventually, we find that Dad is human.  Sometimes he has no answer.  Sometimes there are things he can’t fix.  Sometimes he has to ask someone else for help. Even the Incredibles showed us that being a “super” has its down side.  So there we are, searching again for that super-sized security somewhere else.  It is yet another manifestation of the God-shaped void.

Our kids watch some of these super characters on TV, but I think they have a pretty good handle on reality.  What I find myself asking is, how real is God to them?  If there was ever anyone who could personify all of these character traits, it is He.  Do my kids know this?  More importantly, do they believe it?  Do I show them that they can? Does my life demonstrate that God has all the answers, or do my kids see me scrambling around feverishly trying to solve my own problems?  Do I show that God can be trusted and that He’s always there for me by how I pray with them?  When I am afraid, what do they see?  When I am at the end of my rope, when I am searching for answers, do they see me open my Bible?  I want my kids to “taste and see that the Lord is good” and that there are blessings for those who make Him their refuge. (Psalm 34:8)

God is all powerful, all knowing, everywhere present, always good, ever just and true, and never changing.  If you want to talk superlatives, I want them to know this:

6For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counseller, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

7Of the increase of his government and peace there shall be no end, upon the throne of David, and upon his kingdom, to order it, and to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever.

Leave a Reply

