Covenant Eyes Turbo

I have plugged before regarding the “Covenant Eyes” accountability software program.  I have friends who are grateful for the help it provides.  I came across the verse in Job which inspired the name of the product just this morning in my quiet time:

“I have made a covenant with my eyes; how then could I gaze at a virgin?” ~Job 31:1

A few verses later he says,

Does not he see my ways and number all my steps? (v. 4)

Because we are human, our thoughts are often confined to the horizontal.  Our flesh screams loudly, and is fed regularly (if we allow it to be) in every direction we turn.  If we are not immersed in the Word, we can forget that

the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to give strong support to those whose heart is blameless toward him. ~2 Chronicles 16:9a

See, when we are governed by the flesh, it becomes less and less important to us that we are observed by a holy God.  We dismiss the fact, because He does not seem tangible.  That’s the ugly truth. How easily we are ashamed when “caught in the act,” by a friend or family member.  God the Holy Spirit dwells within us.  He is aware of the mind’s eye too.  The things you’ve seen, the words you’ve read…those movies that replay in your memory.  It is so much better never to allow it in (for whatever reason we feel is justifiable).  This is a verse I made into a scripture chorus for our kids:

I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me. ~Psalm 101:3

This was written by David.  Who would know better of its truth?  He saw a woman bathing on her roof top.  He could not shake the image.  It was cleaving to his mind…clinging…it would not let go.  It is a blessing that our minds work in such a way, when good things are being put in; but it works in the opposite direction as well.  I remember things I saw and read as an unsaved teen…too many years ago.  I suspect your mind works this way as well.  A glimpse of a commercial, a blurb in a Google search, the image from a hacker’s post on Facebook.  They stick.

So, what about this “turbo” idea?  I am no judge.  I believe the Covenant Eyes tool is bought and used mainly by folks (men and women…this is not just a guy thing, friends) who understand their own frailties.  I also understand the human inclination to like easy fixes.  The use of this type of tool is not the complete arsenal.  How do we amp it up? True success in this matter requires effort in the heart as well.  Acknowledging one’s weakness is the first and biggest step.  Rejoice that He has allowed to see yourself as He does.  That is divine work.

I know many of my readers have heard this all before.  Know what I say to that?  Let’s hear it again.  It is the simplest things that we tend to get lazy about…because they are simple, we think we’ve got it covered.  The adversary loves this flabby kind of reasoning.

Several verses further in the same chapter of Job, he says,

 (Let me be weighed in a just balance, and let God know my integrity!)  if my step has turned aside from the way and my heart has gone after my eyes… (v. 6,7)

Our heart goes after our eyes.  I have found that when I am seeking His help in this during my waking hours, I have to watch my back more carefully during the night seasons.  I remember specific times in the past when I would wake up with a tangible presence in the room which literally drove me to my knees.  I was afraid and amazed at the potential of my own mind’s eye, and came to realize that it did no good to lie there in the dark contemplating things.  I had to physically get up, get on my knees, and give the adversary some tangible evidence of his own…evidence that I knew I was not sufficient for the battle, but I knew Someone who was.  I claimed this verse:

I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.  Those who look to him are radiant, and their faces shall never be ashamed.~Psalm 34:4,5

Homework for my heart: What am I looking at?  What am I reading?  My heart will gain an appetite for those things.  Further, in my mind’s eye, what images and ideas do I retain and entertain?  What is my course of action when I discover that my eyes (either physical or mental) are wandering?

Romans 12:1 speaks of the renewing of the mind.  In the context it is presented in connection with knowing the will of God.  In short, we have to teach ourselves to think as He does.  And that comes back to something that is also basic.  Reading His word.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.~Philippians 4:8

I know- you know this, right?  Do you think Paul had lots of time to think during his imprisonment?  No doubt he did battle.  We see evidence of it in his epistles.  He got the “garbage in/garbage out” thing long before computers were invented.

If your mind is wandering, don’t just change it.  Renew it.  Renovate it.  When you do renovations in a home, you take out the rotted boards, the split linoleum, the chipping paint.  To do the job right, you don’t just cover over flaws.  You rebuild.  So, rebuild your mind.  Take it down to the studs.  Nail down some great music, good books, time in the scriptures.  If you know of places (real or virtual) that have caused problems, avoid them.  Poor materials make for an unsteady structure that will not stand.  Continual rebuilding is costly, and unsound foundations are dangerous.  Build with only the best stuff.

Look back at that 2 Chronicles reference.  God wants to “give strong support”.  Christ is your righteousness…this is how you are “blameless” before Him.  He also understood temptation (Matt. 4).  He was a carpenter on this earth.  He is also omniscient, omnipotent God.  He knows how to build things right. 😉

Leave a Reply

