Satisfied

Anyone who knows me or visits this blog often understands my love for old hymns.  They seem to be fading off the scene.  I am delighted to see some new offerings, however, that are rich in doctrine and gospel grace.  Church Works Media and Watchsong are just two places where you can find such treasures.

The title of this post is also the title of an old hymn.  The text speaks of one who had a longing, a thirst, a burning deep within that could not be slaked by anything this world had to offer.  In concludes with the refrain:

Hallelujah! I have found Him
Whom my soul so long has craved!
Jesus satisfies my longings,
Through His blood I now am saved.

Many preachers through the years have spoken of the “God-shaped void” in the hearts of mankind.  The point is, only He will fit there.  We seek satisfaction in many things, to no avail:

  • In money and earthly treasure…but the adage is true: you can’t take it with you.  When you leave, as Solomon realized much to his dismay, you’ll leave everything that ever belonged to you for someone else to claim.
  • In accomplishments…but your fame will be forgotten eventually, and very likely will be your achievements as well.  Even if you do something that is remembered for posterity, what satisfaction will you experience from this when you leave this life?  Everyone will live forever somewhere.  It will not be here.
  • In love and friendship….but people fail.  Try as you might to cram a person into that divine void, there will always be an attitude, a mannerism, a memory, a slight that will refuse to fit.  No one can be your “all in all”…it is simply unfair to make this demand of a flawed human being.
  • In pleasure…but even Solomon, who “had it all” by human standards found it all to be vain.  Anyone who has suffered from an addiction (which begins in pursuit of pleasure “just this once”) understands that “enough” does not exist.

The cravings will never go away.  We will scramble, clutch, clamor, and want.  It will not end, until we stop at the foot of the cross:

28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

What we really want is rest.  Here it is.

Leave a Reply

