Reflection

I am grateful for the word of God, which serves as a mirror to my soul.  The scripture says,

23 For if any be a hearer of the word, and not a doer, he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass: 24 For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way, and straightway forgetteth what manner of man he was. 25 But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.” ~James 1:23-35

See, I often don’t like what I see.  It is not a matter of forgetting.  It is a matter of shame, and sometimes denial.  But I have found encouragement lately.

As I stand before that mirror, my Savior stands beside me.  I lift my eyes to the reflection of myself.

As I give my image a sideways glance, I whisper to Him, “That’s….me.”  I know He sees beyond my outward appearance.  My gaze falls in shame to the floor.

Then, He moves close, and puts His left arm around my shoulder.

“You have taken me as your Savior.  Diane, you are mine.”  With His nail-pierced right hand, He lifts my chin.  I look into the glass again.

He then points His finger to His own reflection beside mine and says with warmth, “From Heaven, you look like this.”

“…THE LORD OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS…Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. …Christ in you, the hope of glory…” ~Jeremiah 23:6; 1 John 4:10; Colossians 1:27

Leave a Reply

