Homework for My Heart: “No Greater Joy”

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.~3 John 1:4

Does it not please you immensely when you hear that your children have been obedient, they have pleased the Lord in their conduct and choices while they were away from you?  It does me.  I have hope that they are beginning to make choices for much bigger reasons than just because Mom or Dad is watching.

Last Saturday was a grumpy day for me.  I am ashamed to admit it.  I am finding new energy as I have been more closely policing my health.  That is a good thing.  Then, with these new “glasses” on, I looked at what had happened to the house under the regime of my old energy level.  That was a bad thing.  I was overwhelmed.  I had forgotten instantly the advice I give to the kids when tackling a big job…take it in pieces, divide and conquer.  I ranted.  And then I felt I just had to remove myself from the situation, so I went grocery shopping.  I had a lot of time in the car (our shopping is about 30 minutes away) to think, and to let the words of wonderful songs on my “Promises” CD to soak into my seething brain.  When I got home, I had to apologize for my conduct.  Oh, I want to be a better parent.

A little later, I was twiddling on Facebook for a few minutes and I saw a series of photos, including this one of Erin cleaning the dining room table, posted on Erin’s profile.  The kids had said nothing about what they had done while I was gone, and because my “new glasses” were still fogged up from all the seething going on, I could not see.  They had made an effort to address some of the things I had mentioned.  On their own.  Not because I said, “If you don’t have this done before I come back, I’ll…”  They simply did it.  The pictures were not taken as proof for me.  They were having fun,snapping goofy pics with Erin’s phone…their own version of “Whistle While You  Work.” 🙂

I was humbled all over again.  I thank the Lord for loving children.  I want to be more like them.

Homework for my heart: Joyfully serve today, not out of fear or what the Bible calls “eyeservice“, but out of love.

Leave a Reply

