Amazing

I recently read a news article, speaking of the mother who is accused of suffocating her 2 year old child with duct tape in 2008.  Even typing those words grabs my heart.  Hard.  Pray for Casey Anthony.  She may receive a death sentence.  She needs the Lord.

Words flood into my mind:  despicable, horrifying, grievous, heinous, amazing.

Wait.  “Amazing”??

Here’s what is amazing to me.  That woman, who allegedly watched her own child die, whose hands were responsible for the crime…she is part of “whosoever”:

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

God loves her.  Are you amazed?  Further, does it amaze you that He loves you as well?

In wonder lost, with trembling joy,
We take the pardon of our God:
Pardon for crimes of deepest dye,
A pardon bought with Jesus’ blood,
A pardon bought with Jesus’ blood.~Samuel Davies, 1769

I stand amazed in the presence
Of Jesus the Nazarene,
And wonder how He could love me,
A sinner, condemned, unclean.

O how marvelous! O how wonderful!
And my song shall ever be:
O how marvelous! O how wonderful!
Is my Savior’s love for me!~Charles H. Gabriel, 1905

Leave a Reply

