A Charming Sound

Don’t get me wrong.  My children are normal.  They fight.  They pick.  They tease.  But I was blessed by some things I have heard this week, especially from our youngest and most challenging, Kate.

Over the weekend, our oldest daughter was practicing on the piano for the offertory she was to share on Sunday.  It was a medley of two songs, “Bow the Knee” and “A Passion for Thee”.  I could hear Kate chirping along as she often does, when she is not twirling to the music.  When I came into the kitchen to take care of some dishes, she asked if I would like to hear the words that she made up for the songs.  So she began to sing along as Erin continued playing:

You are my God.  You are my God.

I am yours.  You are mine.  You are mine.

I love you, and you love me… (thank goodness this wasn’t followed by “we’re a happy family” 😉 )

I am your person.

You are the best person in the world.

And I love you.

Kinda sounds like a bad praise chorus, but it was music to my ears.  Kate struggles with her little sinful heart more strenuously than both of our other kids put together.  It is a comfort to me that she has these thoughts wooing her to the One who loves her best.

Then, last night when I was chatting and praying with Erin at tuck-in time, I overheard Kate across the hall, talking with Michael:

“Why did God make us, Michael?”

“To praise Him.  And that means you don’t sin.  Do you know what sin is?”

“What?”

“When you disobey Mommy, that’s sin.”

“Ohhhhhh…”

I could not hear what was said after this.  But to hear Michael speak so earnestly and tenderly to Kate, and to hear her asking these questions, blessed my heart.  I’ve spoken with her about the gospel, and about how we’re all bad enough to be eternally separated from God just by being born into this world; but I loved even more to hear her spontaneously inquiring.

Tender Shepherd, seek out our little lamb, because of Your grace.

Grace, ’tis a charming sound,
Harmonious to mine ear;
Heaven with the echo shall resound,
And all the earth shall hear.~Philip Doddridge, 1740

Leave a Reply

