I’ll See You in the Morning

My mother’s earthly life of nearly 90 years has been hanging in the balance since yesterday afternoon.  Many of you are aware of the circumstances.  As a result of a fall, she began to bleed into her brain. Ironically, this event is almost identical to that which resulted in my Dad going to glory in 2004.  As of  last night, Mom was breathing but unconscious.  The doctors said it is only a matter of time.  I am awaiting an update this morning.

While this is sad news, I am heartened especially on this weekend.  This scripture explains:

1 Thessalonians 4:13 “But we do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope. 14 For since we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so, through Jesus, God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep.”

This is not the end.  As a matter of fact, it is really only the beginning.  Scripture tells us that our lives here on earth are only a vapor…a misty wisp of air.  Eternity is a long, long time in comparison.  I trusted Christ as my Savior a little over 30 years ago.  My Mom did also, as explained here.  This has nothing to do with being a Baptist or any other denomination.  It has to do with Christ’s sacrifice on the cross, and trusting in, leaning upon that alone so that I might have a right standing before God.  He is Jehovah Tsidkenu, “the Lord, our righteousness.”  As an ex-nun friend of mine would say, “It is not at all about what we DO, it is all about what has already been DONE.”

Titus 3:4 But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, 5 he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit, 6 whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, 7 so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

I have a surety that I will see my Mom again.  There are also precious comforts that I have been thinking about this morning:

  1. The first and best is that my Mom, who had macular degeneration and also cataracts,  will see her Savior first of all.  Clearly, up close, and personal.  I am thrilled for her!
  2. Every time I would speak to Mom on the phone, she’d ask that we pray that her remaining eyesight would hold out until God called her home.  He did.
  3. We all got to talk with her only a few days ago by phone.  She had wonderful chats with the girls.  My son, who is somewhat shy and not big on phone conversations, was actually persuaded to talk with her.  I heard my Mom say, “You know I love you, don’t you?”  What I didn’t know (Michael had walked down the hall with the phone) was that he had quietly whispered, “I love you too.”  Mom told me later, and I could tell how much it meant to her.
  4. I am grateful that my brother, with whom Mom has been living since she moved from here a few years ago due to health challenges, is not in unfamiliar territory in making some difficult decisions.  This is very much the same road that he and my other brother were dealing with concerning my Dad (at the time, we were en route).  The choices are very similar.  This time, with no one else right there this moment to help decide things, it is as if he has Dad by his side.
  5. Although we have tentatively planned a private memorial service for immediate family in Ohio (Mom wanted to be buried by my Dad in the military cemetery in Cleveland where he is interred), the church family in FL will have a memorial service in support of Tom and his family.  I have had such wonderful support from friends in our church, from family, and from so many literally across the world via the internet.
  6. I have some meaningful keepsakes that Mom gave to me before she moved to FL. Her mother’s ring, a favorite tea pot, a string of pearls that Dad had bought her (to be passed down to Erin)…and many other every day articles from her household.  I can literally look around most every room in the house and find reminders of her generous spirit.

God is good.  Good night Mom.  I’ll see you in the morning. Click here to listen to a precious song.

2 thoughts on “I’ll See You in the Morning

  1. Diane, my heart and prayers are with you during this time. Moms are precious, and moms that know Christ are priceless.

  2. Thank you Michele. I can add one more precious blessing to the list above. Mom went to be with the Lord on her wedding anniversary. She was joyfully reunited with her sweetheart as well as her wonderful Savior. God is good.

Leave a Reply

