Sunday Hymnary: “Lord, Thou Hast Made Thyself to Me” by J. B. French,

  1. Lord, Thou hast made Thyself to me
    A living, bright reality,
    More present to faith’s vision keen
    Than any earthly object seen;
    More dear, more intimately nigh
    Than e’en the closest earthly tie.
  2. And Thou, blest vision of my soul,
    Hast made my broken nature whole;
    Hast purified my base desires,
    And kindled passion’s holiest fires;
    My nature Thou hast lifted up,
    And filled me with a glorious hope.
  3. Nearer and dearer still to me,
    Thou living, loving Savior be;
    Brighter the vision of Thy face,
    More charming still Thy words of grace;
    So, life shall be transformed to love,
    Thy grace and mercy more to prove.
Leave a Reply

