The Martha Stewart Mindset

I read this portion this morning in my devotions*:

32(M) “Fear not, little(N) flock, for(O) it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you(P) the kingdom. 33(Q) Sell your possessions, and(R) give to the needy.(S) Provide yourselves with moneybags that do not grow old, with(T) a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. 34(U) For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

Now, I wonder…how willing are we to sell (or give away) anything God would require for us to unload for the sake of His kingdom?  Where is your treasure?

We had a neighbor down the road from us years ago…a retired couple.  They had a modest little yellow house and a small garage with siding to match.  In the course of our 6 or so years living down the road from them, they put up three more storage buildings on the property, all with yellow siding, all packed full of things that they needed to keep.  It reminded me of the man in the gospels  who built more and more barns.  What did the Savior say?  “You can’t take it with you.”

paint swatchMany women thrive on decorating their homes.  “They” (whoever they are) call it the “nesting instinct.”  But to become preoccupied with fabric swatches and feng shui is to distract your focus from where it ought to be.  The world and our adversary would have you tie yourself down to earthly comforts and pleasures and to revel in catalogs and Martha Stewart magazines.  I have news for you, Christian…this is not your home, and however many times you rearrange the furniture or coordinate paint and wallpaper, it will never be exactly perfectly right.  Because you are not meant to find your ultimate solace here.  Don’t get me wrong.  I like things to match.  I enjoy my comfy praying chair.  Enjoy your puttering, but be mindful that you do not become so horizontally oriented that you forget to sit at Jesus’ feet…like another Martha did.  Remember, when you finally find that perfect accessory at Crate and Barrel, that there is a treasure awaiting you elsewhere.  “Altogether lovely.”  He is satisfaction personified.

*I have the scripture link sent to my inbox, because I know I will be reminded and more apt to go there and do it–I readily admit my weakness to become too preoccupied with “life” —this tool has helped me stay faithful.

Leave a Reply

