Ways to Make Yourself Miserable (9 to be exact) from Elisabeth Elliot

“Misery loves company.” (not so sure about that)

“It’s my party, and I’ll cry if I want to…” (I’m not really old enough to know that one…I heard it on an oldies commercial.) 😉

“Gloom, despair, and agony on me…deep, dark depression, excessive misery…if it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all…gloom, despair, and agony on me…” (this one I am old enough to remember)

“I can’t cheer up…I don’t want to cheer up…I’d rather just be miserable.” (from the illustrious Anne of Green Gables)

My youngest daughter (3 yrs) has come to the point where, if she feels she’s not getting the sympathy she deserves for her latest disappointment or minor scrape, she’ll mournfully walk over to the big brass lamp on the coffee table and weepingly commiserate with her reflection.  No kidding.  Who taught her that?  Nobody.  It’s just a quirky part of the human fabric that we like to wallow in misery.  Just ask Jonah…or Ahab!

Elisabeth’s  devotionals are copyrighted, so go here.  If you don’t get spanked by at least one of these, I wanna shake your hand.

Leave a Reply

