Carnal Blogging

angrycomputersIf you’ve sauntered around the blogosphere for any amount of time, you’ve discovered that it is largely comprised of folks speaking their minds.  Freedom of speech is a wonderful thing, but can lend itself to foolishness, arrogance and carelessness, even among believers.

In the last two weeks, I’ve done more surfing than usual.  While I was taking a break from my own writing, I was sampling a smorgasbord of other Christian venues.  There’s a lot of good stuff out there.  There’s also quite a bit that makes me bristle.   Things said under the guise of scholarship that merely exhibit intellectual snobbery.  Arguing for the sake of arguing, to prove “I’m right.”  Snarky comments that leave a bitter impression.  Outright cyber-slaps-in-the-face when one feels he or she has been slighted or challenged…”and that before the unbelievers.”  Do we really have this much liberty as Christians?  Would such liberty be taken if the same conversation took place face to face?  Admittedly, communicating in writing is already a challenge (even with profuse “smilies”).  We need to be exceedingly on our guard in this age of faceless (also gestureless, inflectionless) communication.

Just because we have a right to speak freely…does that mean we can malign, belittle and verbally jab others…even if it does make us appear clever, smart, hip, or intellectually superior?  This is what I know:

  • Let your speech be alway with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man. Col 4:6
  • But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. Mt. 12:36
  • Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer. Ps. 19:14

If you check out the book of Proverbs, it is replete with references to our speech.  I was delighted to find this post this morning on the Sharper Iron blog.  Well done, Bro Aaron.  “O be careful little mouth what you say” (or in this case, “little fingers what you type”) is not just for children.  We need to blog in the Spirit.

Click here to see an example of how things ought to be handled when reconciling  graciously in the world of blogging.  Look at the sub-conversation, beginning at about post #19 (used by permission of Bro Joel Tetreau–yes, it’s a public venue, but due to the nature of the comments, I wanted him to know how I wanted to use his words).  This kind of esteeming others better than self is, sadly, so uncommon, I think it should be on the front page.

Let’s all learn from it.

Leave a Reply

