I Will…I Promise…I Won’t

“And Enoch walked with God: and he [was] not; for God took him.”

javelinWe don’t know much about Enoch, except from a few verses.  We read that he was the son of a man named Jared.  We know he was 65 when his son Methuselah (the oldest man in biblical record, at 969 years) was born.  We know he and his wife also had other children.  We know he is said to have “walked with God” after his son was born (did he also, prior to that event?) and until the end of his earthly life at the age of 365.  We know he met his God and Savior in a way that none of us probably ever will.  We know he is called “pleasing to God” in the book of Hebrews.  We also have him quoted once in the NT, in the book of Jude, which give a distinct impression about his personality and commitment to holiness:

And Enoch also, the seventh from Adam, prophesied of these, saying, “Behold, the Lord cometh with ten thousands of his saints, to execute judgment upon all, and to convince all that are ungodly among them of all their ungodly deeds which they have ungodly committed, and of all their hard speeches which ungodly sinners have spoken against him. These are murmurers, complainers, walking after their own lusts; and their mouth speaketh great swelling words, having men’s persons in admiration because of advantage.”

Methuselah, by the way, means “man of the javelin”…I wonder to myself if he did not follow in his father’s footsteps in hurling the same type of verbal holy darts toward iniquity?  In today’s Christian society, we seem to be avoiding “strong” words like these.  Being politically correct is what concerns folks.  I guess that’s why I like to read the Puritan preachers.  I like straight, edifying talk.  I’m not a Chatty Cathy–just cut to the chase.

I like the strength of language in the gospel song, “I Am Resolved“.  I had a room mate in college who said whenever she heard that song, she thought of me.  I don’t dare flatter myself to think that I emulate those lyrics – but I want to.  We all need to come back to terms with God….terms like, “I promise”, “I will”, “I will not”…and say with the psalmist, “My heart is fixed”.

Here is last Sunday’s message from our pastor, Tim Senter, on the topic of Making Oaths from Matthew 5.  Interesting perspective to consider on this topic.  And if you find any typos, I don’t want to hear about it. 😉

One thought on “I Will…I Promise…I Won’t

  1. Pingback: I Will…I Promise…I Won’t emulator emulate

Leave a Reply

