Never, Never, Never, Never, Never

I recently made up a little scripture chorus for Hebrews 13:5 for our kids at church.  This is an important message, especially in our generation where homes are too often split and confidence is fragile:  “I will never leave thee.”

Do you realize that these familiar words from a hymn text are not merely artistic or poetic–they are quite literal:

The soul that on Jesus has leaned for repose,
I will not, I will not desert to its foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.~John Rippon, 1787

I love hymn texts that are rich in scriptural accuracy.  Here is what Elisabeth Elliott says about the scripture reference, Hebrews 13:5:

I will never, never, never, never, never (the Greek has five negatives) leave you or forsake you,” is his promise. At times we may be overcome with a feeling of helpless forsakenness. This is surely not from the loving Father, but from the father of lies. The best way to answer that “father” is the way Jesus answered when tempted by Satan: “It is written.” Take God’s own promise with its five negatives and hold on.

2 thoughts on “Never, Never, Never, Never, Never

  1. The hymn, How Firm a Foundation, was one that circulated often in my head during the time I faced the unexpected and sudden death of my beloved husband. I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that God would be true to His Word and that truth gave me great comfort and strength to face the future. Even though that was over 13 years ago, God has proven Himself to me over and over and has never, never, no never, forsaken me. Hebrews 13:5 is one of those precious promises that I fall back on time and time again.

  2. I remember the day we got the call about Kevin’s accident (tho I know you view it as believers ought to–as part of God’s design). Some of life’s events are unbearable without the immeasurable grace of God. It has brought us safe thus far….and it will lead us home.

Leave a Reply

