Never Alone

j0433155“If chosen men had never been alone,
In deepest silence open-doored to God,
No greatness ever had been dreamed or done.”

As the mother of young children, I find I have very few solitary moments, unless I commit to them.  No area of the house is sacred, once the kiddiewinks are up.  Not even the restroom.  Been there?  Live there? 🙂

I have been thinking about this for some time.  I think much of the shallowness in our generation, in Christian literature, entertainment, music and otherwise, is due to this one point.  Folks need to be devoted to getting alone with God.  That is hard to do in our techno-saturated world.  We are not alone when we are accompanied by cell phones, pagers, Blackberries, ipods, car radios and tape/CD players (even DVD players) everywhere we go.  We are suffering for it, too.

I am a front porch kind of girl.  (Interestingly, have you noticed that modern architecture has largely reduced the front porch to a 6′ x 6′ concrete slab?)  Give me a swing, a great book or perhaps someone nice to chat with, and I am content.  I am very easy to entertain.  I am a great fan of quiet, and it is hard to find.   You can’t shop in peace. Folks don’t even go for walks anymore without being plugged into something or other.  Maybe that’s why I enjoy reading dead guys–their stuff is thoughtful–composed in a time that was devoid of these distractions.

Perhaps this is why the word “devotions” was coined.  When you are devoted to someone, you make up your mind that they take priority.  Convenience as nothing to do with it.  You sacrifice to be in their company, and to please them.  Your thoughts are occupied with that person, and your talk often is as well.  I like the word “devotion”–but because it has been watered down to mean “I spend four minutes scanning a devotional book, when I can squeeze it in,” I usually choose to call it “quiet time.”

Click here to read something significant I came across recently.  Wow, this is so true.  Covet to be alone with Him…we should be desperate for this.

Leave a Reply

