Over Easy: Flossing and “Calvin & Hobbes”

j0337249I was inspired this morning while flossing my teeth.  I always feel victorious when I throw that frazzled length of waxed string in the wastebasket.  Why?  I detest flossing.  It slows me down.  It’s not fun (my teeth are tight).  Sometimes it hurts if I get impatient.  So, that little strand of Reach dental tape is a trophy to me–victory over self!

We don’t often like to do what’s healthy and right.  Cutting out sugar, caffeine, doughnuts, french fries.  Tying on the walking shoes when it is cold and drizzly out.  Dragging out the free weights when you’d rather be in bed.  Snapping on the seat belt.  Going the speed limit (*cough*).  Dusting, laundry, dishes–all those homey duties that are seemingly never done.  What about Bible study?

It’s getting awful quiet in here. 😉

Did you know that flossing gives you better breath?  It helps you to be nicer to be around.  So does your quiet time! 😀  It makes you immeasurably more amiable…just ask your family members, friends and colleagues.  You are much better company for God, too.

But there is evidence of an even greater benefit to flossing.  By adopting that little daily habit, you greatly offset the likelihood that you will develop gum disease.  Gum disease has direct connections to heart disease.  Flossing could literally save your life.

Okay, I’m not going to get all goofy and draw a gazillion parallels between these two morning habits; but I think you get the point, right?  The ramifications for your spiritual health as a result of regularly skipping your daily time in the Word are serious ones.

“Thy word [is] a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.”  Ps. 119:105

One of my favorite “Calvin and Hobbes” strips is the one where Calvin tells his tiger friend that they need to be cooler.  He hands Hobbes a pair of Ray Bans.  Upon slipping them on, Hobbes puts his arms out in front of him, as if to prepare for groping his way through the day, and asks quizzically, “It’s cool to bump into things??” Calvin replies, “You don’t move.  You just hang around.”

It’s pretty obvious that if you want to see where you are going, and avoid bumps and bruises, you need some light.  So…grab that little white box with the spinny thing inside, flip the top open, give that string a yank, and snap off a suitable amount.  While you floss, you can listen to scripture on tape and do your heart good, two-fold.  You’ll thank me later. 🙂

And, if you need a flossing tutorial, click here.  That’s free.

Leave a Reply

