Pop Quiz

CB028870

“I’ve changed our schedule.  So, the test that we usually have on Friday over the material we’ve covered during the week will now be given on Monday before we’ve learned it.”

This is one of my favorite lines (aside from all the quirky quotes from classic literature: “We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of the dreams…”) from “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.” Have you ever felt this way?  You are humming along fairly pleasantly through your day, and then something comes up that leaves you speechless, dumbfounded…perhaps reeling.  Life is full of pop-quizzes.  How do you deal with this thing, when you had no idea it was coming?  You study.

My husband is one of those who could briefly glance over notes for a Systematic Theology exam and ace it the next morning.  Not me.  I got good grades; but I had to systematically (pun intended) study for that same exam…a little each day.  The mentality behind my class notes had to become second nature to me.

See, if you make a habit of exposing yourself to the great lessons of God, hiding the Word in your heart, familiarizing yourself with the real life scenarios (remember that Job and Moses and Noah and Lot’s wife were not fictitious characters, but actual living, breathing people–we know this, but we forget it sometimes) of how folks dealt with this or that (or blew it, as the case may be)–getting to know  your way around the scriptures like this is invaluable when you are called upon to give an answer to some searching soul–or simply when you desperately need bolstering for your own faith.

Satan’s attacks are premeditated and calculated on his end of things (think about the prowling of a lion before it springs), and we are often caught unawares.  God is not.  He is never surprised.  He never says, “Oh my, I didn’t see that one coming!”  Open your Bible.  He is there.  Learn to understand His ways as much as you are able.  There is rest in the confidence of acquainting yourself with your God:

“Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.”  Mt. 11:29

Leave a Reply

