Sorry Daddy

j0178845“There is a wide distinction between confessing sin as a culprit, and confessing sin as a child. The Father’s bosom is the place for penitent confessions. We have been cleansed once for all, but our feet still need to be washed from the defilement of our daily walk as children of God.”~C.H. Spurgeon

I was always “Daddy’s girl.”  I remember only a few times that I dared to disobey him as a child.  Each of those times, he did not need to confront me.  Indeed, I only remember one “big spanking” from him, and that was because he observed me crossing a very busy street without checking at all for traffic.  This was on the heels of a gruesome accident at that same intersection, between a Corvair and a Cadillac.  He was no doubt frightened out of his wits imagining what could have been.  Generally, though, all Dad needed to do was give me “the Look,” and I was reduced to a puddle of tears.  Why?  Not because I got caught.  It was because I loved him so.  I could not stand to think I had grieved him, displeased him or disappointed him.  Just imagining such a scenario was sufficient, even in my early teens, to protect me from engaging in some behavior that would bring shipwreck to my life.

I imagine the “look” that the Lord Jesus gave to Peter in the midst of his denials:

And the Lord turned, and looked upon Peter. And Peter remembered the word of the Lord, how he had said unto him, Before the cock crow, thou shalt deny me thrice. Luke 22:61

How it must have pierced him, cut him to the heart.  Click here to read Elisabeth Barrett Browning’s poem entitled, “The Look”.

God’s eyes are still upon us:

The eyes of the LORD are in every place, beholding the evil and the good.  Prov. 15:3

He is El Roi, “the God who sees.”  He sees what you read, what is in your purse, what your web surfing habits are.  He looks beyond physical existence and observes your heart.  The psalmist wrote that He knows your thoughts before they are thought.

Perhaps we would do well to remember the little chorus that reminds children that “the Father up above is looking down in love, so be careful…”

Make the obedient choice, child of God.  Be a delight to your Abba, Father.

Leave a Reply

