Selah: “Lord, Speak to Me” by F.R. Havergal

42-15545846This text takes me back to college days.  A Chi Theta Upsilon sister and I sang a “Hale and Wilder” (remember them?) adaptation of this together in various society SS classes.  Fun days.  I wanted to put this here as a “Selah” post because these words about our words are worth some serious meditation. 

Lord, speak to me that I may speak
In living echoes of Thy tone;
As Thou has sought, so let me seek
Thine erring children lost and lone.

O teach me, Lord, that I may teach
The precious things Thou dost impart;
And wing my words, that they may reach
The hidden depths of many a heart.

O give Thine own sweet rest to me,
That I may speak with soothing power
A word in season, as from Thee,
To weary ones in needful hour.

O fill me with Thy fullness, Lord,
Until my very heart overflow
In kindling thought and glowing word,
Thy love to tell, Thy praise to show.

O use me, Lord, use even me,
Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where,
Until Thy blessèd face I see,
Thy rest, Thy joy, Thy glory share.

In my Monday Bible study (interestingly, covering a study of consecration also by Havergal) we are currently addressing “take my lips and let them be filled with messages from Thee”.  So much of life hinges upon words, ladies.  People have died for what they have said.  Wars have been waged because of something that was spoken.  Souls have been left wandering because of words not uttered.  And, as James illustrates, our tongues can create “wildfire status” damage…irreparable and uncontrollable havoc.  What we say (or don’t) is serious business.  Look at this quote from Havergal’s “Kept for the Master’s Use”.  Here is some testimony of her own, that probably served as impetus to the penning of her thoughts.

 How well I recollect this disappointment to myself, again and again, when a mere child! In those early seeking days I never could understand why, sometimes, a good man whom I heard preach or speak as if he loved Christ very much, talk about all sorts of other things when we came back from church or missionary meeting. I did so wish he would have talked about the Saviour, whom I wanted, but had not found.

It would have been so much more interesting, even to the apparently thoughtless and merry little girl. How could he help it, I wondered, if he cared for that Pearl of Great Price as I was sure I should care for it if I could only find it! And oh! why didn’t they ever talk to me about it, instead of about my lessons or their little girls at home ? They did not know how their conversation was observed and compared with their sermon or speech, and how a hungry little soul went empty away from the supper-table.

Whom do you need to tell today?

Leave a Reply

