Selah: “Stand” by Dr. Bob Moorehead*

                

  STAND

 I’m part of the fellowship of the unashamed,

I have the witness of the indwelling presence and

Power of the Holy Spirit Who is able to keep

Me from falling and present me faultless before

The Throne of His Glory.

I have stepped over the line,

            The decision has been made.

                        I’m a disciple of His.

I won’t look back, letup, slow down, back away or be still.

 

My past is redeemed,

         My present makes sense,

              My future is secure.

 

I’m finished and done with low-living, sight-

            Walking, small planning, smooth knees,

            Colorless dreams, tamed visions, mundane

            Talking, “chincy” giving, and dwarfed goals.

I no longer need pre-eminence, prosperity, position

            Promotions, plaudits, or popularity.

I don’t have to be right, first, tops, recognized,

            Praised, regarded or rewarded.                                                                                                                                            

  

I now live by presence, lean by faith, walk by patience,

            Lift by prayer, and labor by power.

             My face is set.

 

My gait is fast, my goal is heaven, my road  is

            Narrow, my way is rough, my companions

            Few, my Guide reliable, my mission clear.

I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured

            Away, turned back, deluded or delayed.

I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the

            Presence of the adversary, negotiate at the

            Table of the enemy, ponder at the pool of popularity,

            Or meander in the maze of mediocrity.

I won’t give up, shut up, let up, until I have stayed up,

            Stored up, prayed up, paid up, and preached up

            For the cause of Christ.

 

            I am a disciple of Jesus!

I must go till He comes, give till I drop, preach till

            All know, and work till He stops me.

And when He comes for His own, He will have

            No problem recognizing me,—–

            My colors will be clear.

*This widely-circulated piece (we obtained our copy from New Covenant Couriers in Greenviille, SC) is a supreme case of God using the weak things [we all fit into Paul’s “weak and foolish” hall of fame in some way or other].  The author of these sterling proclaimations unfortunately, I discovered, has a very tarnished reputation.  He also penned the popular essay, “Paradox of Our Time” (often erroneously attributed to George Carlin).  I’ll let you do the homework.  “At the end of the day” (as they say), these statements are still certainly worth thinking upon.

Leave a Reply

