I Will Trust

This weekend God has been working on me with this idea of fear.  He brought one area of my life into crystal-clear view…an area in which I was not “living by faith”, but by fear.  I was aware of this in my life, but yesterday I was honest with Him, told Him what I was afraid of (and I used the word “afraid”…not “concerned”–that’s not easy for someone who likes to be in control, composed, confident), and that I wanted to trust Him instead…to place my confidence there.

My kids sing a chorus, “Behold, behold, God is my salvation….I will trust, and not be afraid”, from the Psalms.  It is easy to sing.  It is harder when it gets connected with a trial in our lives…especially when it is the sort of thing that will not quickly go away…one that will have to be borne over time. 

Here is a list of verses I dug up.  My challenge to you (as I challenge myself) is, if you are fearful in any area of life (finances, safety, health, future security, family…), read the verses and then write out in your own words what they mean for your situation today.  God’s Word is alive, and applicable to real life!

  • Prov. 21:31 “safety is of the LORD”
  • Deut. 33:12 “The beloved of the LORD shall dwell in safety by Him; and the LORD shall cover him all the day long, and he shall dwell between His shoulders.”
  • Ps. 4:8 “I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for Thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.”
  • Lev. 25:18 “Wherefore ye shall do My Statutes, and keep My Judgments, and do them; and ye shall dwell in the land in safety.”
  • Ps. 3:5 “I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the LORD sustained me.”
  • Prov. 3:24-26 “When thou liest down, thou shalt not be afraid: yea, thou shalt lie down, and thy sleep shall be sweet. Be not afraid of sudden fear, neither of the desolation of the wicked, when it cometh. For the LORD shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.”
  • Prov. 1:33 “But whoso hearkeneth unto Me shall dwell safely, and shall be quiet from fear of evil.”
  • 1 Sam. 2:9 “He will keep the feet of His saints, and the wicked shall be silent in darkness; for by strength shall no man prevail.”
  • Ps. 112:4,7 “Unto the upright there ariseth Light in the darkness: he is gracious, and full of compassion, and righteous. He shall not be afraid of evil tidings: his heart is fixed, trusting in the LORD.”
  • Prov. 14:26 “In the fear of the LORD is strong confidence: and His children shall have A Place Of Refuge.”
  • Is. 26:3 “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee: because he trusteth in Thee.”
  • Is. 55:3 “Incline your ear, and come unto Me: hear, and your soul shall live; and I will make an Everlasting Covenant with you, even the sure mercies of David.”
  • Prov. 2:8 “He keepeth the paths of judgment, and preserveth the way of His saints.”
  • Prov. 18:10 “The Name of the LORD is a Strong Tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.”
  • 2 Sam. 22:2-3 “The LORD is my Rock, and my Fortress, and my Deliverer; the God of my Rock; in Him will I trust: He is my Shield, and the horn of my Salvation, my High Tower, and my Refuge, my Saviour; Thou savest me from violence.”
  • Ps. 61:3 “For Thou hast been a Shelter for me, and a Strong Tower from the enemy.”
  • Prov. 29:25 “The fear of man bringeth a snare: but whoso putteth his trust in the LORD shall be safe.”
  • Ps. 91:1 “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.”
  • Ps. 91:3 “Surely He shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.”
  • 2 Tim. 1:12 “For I know Whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.”
  • 2 Thes. 3:3,4 “But the LORD is faithful, Who shall stablish you, and keep you from evil.”
  • Ps. 121:8 “The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.”
Leave a Reply

