Strength Email Archives: “Strength for Today” 2/2001

“It is when tomorrow’s burden is added to the burden of today that the weight is more than a man can bear…He begs you to leave the future to Him and mind the present.”  George MacDonald

 “Whatever befalls us, however it befalls us, we must receive as the will of God. If it befalls us through man’s negligence, or ill will, or anger, still it is, in even the least circumstance, to us the will of God.” E. B. Pusey

 “Our God hath already sent forth strength for us, and before the thing we fear can meet us on the road, our God with His lovingkindness shall meet us there.” Amy Carmichael

 “The best way to destroy today is to regret yesterday and worry about tomorrow.” (Matt. 6:25-34; Deut. 33:25) Warren Wiersbe

 “Let the very worst thing come to pass–even there, especially there, His hand will hold us. If we go into darkness, He is there, has been there before us, has conquered all its powers. That’s why He became a man. That’s why He died. That’s why He rose again. My Lord and my God, forgive my fears. Deliver my from bondage by the power of your resurrection.” Heb. 2:14 Elizabeth Elliot

 “I cannot.

Can God?

God can.

So I can do this thing through Christ who strengthens me. I can, I will; for it is God who works in me both to will and to do.” Phil. 4:13 Amy Carmichael

  •  “I will both lay me down in peace and sleep: For Thou Lord only maketh me to dwell in safety.” Ps. 4:8
  •  “What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee. In God I will praise His word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.” Ps. 56:3,4
  •  “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” II Tim. 1:7
  •  “Fear thou not, for I am with thee, be not dismayed, for I am thy God. I will strengthen thee, yea, I will help thee. Yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” Isa. 41:10

 

(A note on Isaiah 41:10– In college, a roommate of mine did a devotional using the above passage. She said that a child in a Sunday school class was asked to read the verse aloud for the rest of the students. He read it this way: “I will strengthen thee… Yeah! I will help thee…Yeah! I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” Is it not something to cheer about that God should offer us His strength? That He would not leave us alone, but would be ever mindful of our need for His help? That He would offer His own right hand which always does the right thing? Maybe we need to “bless the Lord” more for these things?)

Leave a Reply

