Dr. Richard Rupp With the Lord

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to work with Dr. Rupp for several years prior to his retirement from the Office of Extension Ministries at BJU.  What a fine, godly gentleman.  Passionate preacher.  Faithful, loving mentor.

I am told his concern was that his funeral not be about him, but about his Savior.  Anyone who knew him would not be surprised by this.  I also understand from someone in attendance that testimony was given by his daughter, Sandy, saying that just prior to taking his final breath of earthly air, that same charming grin, that we all remember so well, spread wide across his face.  On Monday night, he went Home to be with his Lord.

A friend recently sent me a copy of the program from his memorial service.  I thought  a number of you who visit this blog would like to see it.  I am sure it was very moving.  The processional was the University Hymn, and following the closing prayer, an archived recording of the ministerial class singing “Souls for Jesus” was played.  Stirs my heart just to think of it.

Please click the link below to view the program.

RichardRuppFuneral6-21-12

4 thoughts on “Dr. Richard Rupp With the Lord

  1. Wendy McCombs says:

    Diane,
    Thank you for your comments in honor to Dr. Rupp: a wonderful man. I had the privilege of being able to attend his funeral and graveside service. What a blessing it was! He trurly was as a tender, humble man who loved God and loved serving Him. I am honored to have been able to be his secretary for 3 1/2 years. He was the best person I have ever worked for. It was wonderful hearing his voice again when they played an excerpt during the funeral from one of his chapel messages that he preached years ago. It brought tears to my eyes but I am thrilled for where he is – finally with the Lord whom he loved so much.

  2. Dr. Rupp was in charge to the ministerial class when I was at BJ mid-70s. A man greatly used by the Lord in the lives of many.

  3. Dave Doran says:

    Thanks for posting this. I admired Dr. Rupp a great deal and am very thankful for the impact he had on my life during my college years.

  4. Pastor M. L. Bell, Romans 1:16 says:

    Dr. Rupp was my “Pulpit Speech” professor when I was @ BJU. One of the BEST teachers I had there…..Will see you again, Bro. Rupp….

Leave a Reply

