Only 5 Pounds.

For those of you with a seemingly long road ahead on this weight loss/health gain journey, I feel I need to remind you of something.  Never say you’ve only lost 2 pounds, or 5 pounds.  Those may seem to be small numbers, and perhaps especially in comparison with the number left to be lost…but it is not a small achievement.

I think everyone seeking to lose weight (especially if you feel there is a lack of support and reinforcement from the people around you) needs some tangible reminders.  A photo of what you once were.  That pair of jeans you have already escaped from.  Something.  And this is something most helpful…a bag of sugar.  You must keep it sealed for it to be effective (which is instructive in itself). ;)  Pick it up.  Often.  That, my dear, is 5 pounds.  It is heavy!  And whether five pounds is made up of sweet crystals of sugar, or the water weight swimming around inside of you, or a bit of the junk that has been subtracted from your trunk, it weighs THAT much.  Remember it.

I think our human minds work best with tangible reminders.  I used to keep a dish of mustard seeds on my coffee table years ago for this reason.  You know:

He said to them, “Because of your little faith. For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.”~Matthew 17:20 ESV

Move that mountain, girlfriend!

3 thoughts on “Only 5 Pounds.

  1. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  2. thechristisons says:

    AMEN! I needed that encouragement today. I am REALLY struggling this week and have eaten a couple things I knew I shouldn’t but did it anyways…even though my heart was screaming at me “STOP!” This was a first for this since starting on September 9th. I have been quoting the verse “To him that knoweth to do good and doeth it not, to Him it is sin” every since. God is quick to chasten if we are truly seeking Him, that is for sure! I asked forgiveness for my disobedience and now I need to strive harder.

  3. Diane says:

    My bestie, not only is “tomorrow fresh with no mistakes in it” (as Anne says), but our God’s mercies are new every morning, fresh every moment. You are washed. Keep on keepin’ on, and don’t listen to the accuser of the brethren! Love you!

Leave a Reply

