How Does He Know You Love Him?

If you are the parent of younger children, you may have a tune going through your head.  I heard this same tune this morning, and began thinking about this simple phrase (it actually occurs, “How does she know that you love her?” in the movie Enchanted…so I’m taking a little license).

My beautiful wedding white rose.

Last week was our 17th wedding anniversary.  Also my birthday.  Even though these few weeks are packed with other demands for gift giving, my dh demonstrated his love for me in taking me out to dinner, presenting me with a beautiful white rose (reminiscent of the ones I carried on our wedding day) and even brought home a little container of Haagen Dazs coffee ice cream (my fave).  I don’t need these things to prove my husband’s love…they are simply tokens of it.  The sacrifice and thought they represent are precious to me.

Jesus said, “If you love me, keep my commandments.”  There’s a number of them, you know.  ;)  And His expectations raise the bar far above what man considers exemplary behavior.  That’s how He knows if we love Him.  When we choose to do His bidding. When we deny self for His sake.  When we love Him with all our heart, soul, mind and strength.

Does He know you love Him by the choices you make, the thoughts you think, the words you say?  How have you denied  yourself out of  love for Him?  Refused to utter that delicious morsel of gossip?  Said “no” to the enticing addiction that would steal away your affections and further endear yourself to fleshly appetites? Made time for Him in secret?

Think about today.  Is He assured of your love today?  I’m asking myself too.

One thought on “How Does He Know You Love Him?

  1. Congratulations, happy birthday, & thank you for the beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

